University of the Philippines in the Visayas

UP in the Visayas
 UPV was created by merging three UP colleges: UP Cebu founded in 1918, UP Iloilo founded in 1947, and UP Tacloban founded in 1973.

It was during the term of UP President Onofre D. Corpuz in 1975 when an interdisciplinary Team within the University conceived of an autonomous unit which would become the country’s premier institution for fisheries and marine science education and research. This idea was fleshed out in a proposal entitled “Education Development Plan for the University of the Philippines in the Visayas” a six-volume report by an interdisciplinary team. The new university would evolve from the UP College of Iloilo and the College of Fisheries in Diliman which would transfer to its new site in the Visayas. Funding was to come partly from a government loan to be negotiated with the World Bank for the development of fisheries education.

On May 31, 1979, the Board of Regents approved the establishment of the University of the Philippines in the Visayas as an autonomous unit of the University of the Philippines System with its main campus in Miagao, Iloilo.



Post a Comment


Experience Iloilo. Copyright © 2009-2010.All Rights Reserved.