University of Iloilo - Phinma

The University of Iloilo started as the Iloilo City Colleges (ICC).  It was established in June 1947 by the Hon. Fernando H. Lopez, then mayor of Iloilo City (then became the vice-president of the Philippines), who was imbued with the spirit of unselfish service to the youth.

The College of Criminal Justice has gained popularity in Western Visayas with its modern laboratory facilities like the infra-red microscope, the lie-detector, the questioned document kit, the interrogation and investigation room, practice court room, target range, and its latest acquisition – the paralyzer shield.

On December 17, 1968, the Iloilo City Colleges was granted the university status and became the 32nd University in the Philippines.

In 1991, the Department of Education, Culture, and Sports acknowledged the University of Iloilo as an Excellent School for the College of Criminology, now the College of Criminal Justice. In March 1993, a certificate of recognition was awarded to the College of Criminology for its “OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN THE PURSUIT OF QUALITY EDUCATION AS EXEMPLIFIED BY MERITORIOUS PERFORMANCE IN BOARD EXAMINATIONS – SCHOOL PASSING PERCENTAGE HIGHER THAN NATIONAL AVERAGE.”

On June 25, 1993, a month after the death of Former Philippine Vice President Don Fernando H. Lopez, the FHL Museum dedicated to his memory, was inaugurated.
The New Facade of the University of Iloilo - PEN
In 1998, the University entered into a contract with Net Curricula Incorporated in order to be among the pioneer schools in the country to integrate technology in classroom instruction in all levels – elementary, high school, and college. During the First Semester of 1998-1999, the Net Curricula installed industry-grade network and telecommunication facilities including structured cabling, branded workstations and servers, high-resolution presentation equipment, and licensed software.

In 2008, the university was acquired by PHINMA. It officially became part of PHINMA Education Network in April 2009. Its sister schools are Araullo University, Cagayan de Oro College, and University of Pangasinan.



Post a Comment


Experience Iloilo. Copyright © 2009-2010.All Rights Reserved.